Week 5 Update – Almost public Beta

Paul and I have been working our proverbial asses off over the last couple of weeks (I for one have only had 25 hours sleep in the last 5 days) but it has been worth it as we are very close to going public with the Casual Collective Beta!

We were going to launch this Friday (10th) but we only had a license for 500 connections on the comms server and we thought if we got Dug this would not be enough to see us through the opening weeks, so we are just waiting for our unlimited user license to arrive via email. Part of the upgrade will also let the game talk directly to the server instead of via scripts so there should be a huge drop in any score posting related bugs.

If we get the license and the upgrade goes well we should be launching on Monday (13th) if not very soon after. As soon as we do I will post on here so (if you have not already) hook up with this blogs RSS feed to be one of the first through the doors.

See you in the Collective

Dave

17 Responses to Week 5 Update – Almost public Beta

  1. Fitty says:

    Well done guys. Hope everything goes well and when you do get some sleep, you have good dreams :o)

  2. Is this why I can no longer get into the private beta too? :(

  3. dw about above, I was using the wrong link xD

  4. An unlimited connections license? Don’t tell me the Casual Collective runs on Windows…

  5. Dave says:

    The license is for the communications server which the game runs on, not the web server.

  6. Narrator says:

    Get a good night’s rest and get this thing going! lol.
    Can’t wait to play.

  7. ExcessEnergy says:

    I got into the beta on this update. I was playing this morning on my work computer, but when I came home to my home computer, I never seem to be able to log in.

    I’ve reset my password countless times, and I’ve checked my username the same amount.

    Any help?

  8. Vir4030 says:

    I keep going back and forth between green and yellow on my connection. I generally have good internet connectivity, pretty fast and reliable. Flash has never seem to run well on any of my computers, though, although I keep them relatively clean. Is this normal?

  9. Desiderata says:

    I can’t wait for this to come out guys!!!! I’m soooo excited!!!!! This game helps keep me sane at work and I can’t wait to be able to play with everyone I know!!!!!!!!!!

  10. MattyT says:

    I can’t log in either. (I also didn’t get a beta invite, which is weird because my work collegue did – and I got him to sign up after me so we could battle at work!!!)

  11. Dave says:

    Get your mate to send me a message (my username is ‘critters’ in the collective) with your username and I will let you in the beta.

  12. Dust says:

    Did the unlimited license arrive? *fingers crossed*

  13. Dave says:

    We are not just changing the license, we are also changing the way the game talks to the server so it’s not a quick job, that said we still hope to launch this week.

  14. odinster says:

    z0mg can’t wait :o

    Any idea at what time you will lauinch it, ??? So i will be on around that time depending on the timezone :)

  15. Dust says:

    Thanks for the response Dave.
    And thanks for working so hard to get this out to all of us.

  16. Dan Staub says:

    Can someone email me the link to the Beta login? I am in the beta but I am at work and don’t have the link. My Email is Sammual At juno dot com
    Thanks!

  17. Ross Burke says:

    I am sooooooo excited for the release . I check back here more than my email and all my dating sites. Its going to be very damaging to my social life and career.

Leave a Reply

